h1

Final Fantasy Tactics Advance, the Lion War

November 9, 2007

It has been a couple of weeks since I got my copy of this remake of the great classic FFT.

It definitely it has some defects like unfiltered MIDI music, which some people like it better, and many others dislike it (I prefer the classic one, but this is not bad). It is also well known that some spells and abilities suffer from slow downs, on my opinion they are pretty minor, and after playing a bit you get used to it, it is not a big deal.

The new translation in general is very good, much better than the original, but it has unfortunate consequences like name changes. Many of the original names were not translated correctly, but I liked they way they sounded, and most of the abilities have different names now so it is a mess, and having good memory of what your dream team was does not help that much.

Some of the name changes I didn’t like are:

Balbanes -> Barbaneth

Heavenly Knight -> Knight Gallant

Hamedo -> First Strike

Oracle -> Mystic

Teta -> Tietra

Algus -> Argath

But there are some changes that I liked like

Priest -> White Mage

Wizard -> Black Mage

And I have mixed feelings about some like

Hokuten -> Order of the Northern Sky

Nanten -> Order of the Southern Sky

Aside from translation issues, the videos are amazing, the voice acting is quite good… Delita’s voice is not what I imagined, but that guy’s acting is quite convincing.

I don’t have the new jobs… yet, but I have seen a new story battle (fine addition) and got one of the new characters (lame… I really don’t like FFTA), and I am not really excited about Balthier either (I am not very fond of FFXII).

Haven’t played online yet, because my NIC doesn’t work with KAI, but a cheap one is on its way so soon I’ll check it out.

Anyway, despite being 10 years old, and having minor glitches, I think it is worth its price… you are truly getting a masterpiece, and it is a fine addition to your library even if you have the original one. I still think it is the best game of its kind (and I have played many)… but that’s my subjective opinion of course.

2 comments

  1. […] See my early review here […]


  2. Yep, I buyed a PSP just to play this game I really like it I already finished, and I got a gamesharked save to know what new items are available, and there many new (powerful) items that I did’t get yet on MY save, maybe ’cause I did’nt played rendezvous, melee battles, but it is really worth, good buy…
    I still think that this game deserved a remake (graphically) and maybe a (early in-game) new chars as well as a story extension (how the hell Ramza and alma, and the whole party, get out of the ship graveyard???) You know what happens whit Olan years after but not whit Ramza…



Leave a Reply

