h1

Android SDK released

November 13, 2007

Yeah… another android post. Probably not many more news after this one though.

Anyway, the SDK was finally released, and it turns out that it is just a bunch of Java classes (yeah… I am a bit disappointed).

I agree it has many innovative and cool features, all applications are first class (so you can override any aspect of your phone), and the API seems to be nice, particularly the UI part (I haven’t gone very deep but I like what I saw) and the potential ease of use in general… but still it is no more than a bunch of optimized classes for a modified Java VM!

What if you don’t like / don’t know Java? What if your applications are currently in C/C++, Python, Perl, name_your_favorite? I wonder if this is more about Google’s powerful name than anything else. Furthermore what happens to write once run anywhere if you use a non-standard non-JCP JVM? I don’t think this is necessarily good for Java (actually it may be quite bad), and all the Symbian, Windows Mobile and Mac OSX phones are not just going to disappear (and more unlikely to support Dalvik)

We have Qtopia, we have Maemo, is really this Java VM thing a reason good enough to justify yet another Linux for phones? I have to admit that I am also disappointed because I was hoping to see virtualization being used in some other context.

Leave a Reply

